Books. Opinions. Good times.

The First Book You Read

GreenEggsHam1Do you remember the first book you read all by yourself? I do – it was Dr. Seuss’ immortal classic, Green Eggs and Ham. I was 5, maybe 4, and I remember being so proud for getting through the book on my own.

It was night, and it must’ve been past my bedtime, because I remember coming out of my room and going to my parents in the living room extremely excited to read them Green Eggs and Ham all by myself.

My parents, who were settling down in front of the T.V. for some child-free time and the nightly news, were… less than impressed.  I got a half-baked, “Okay, good, now go to bed, Topper” response to my big moment.

To be fair, I don’t think I adequately expressed that this was the Very First Time I had read a book entirely independently.  In fact, I don’t think I said anything but “Mommy! Daddy! Look! Listen!” and then diving directly in my book.  Add to that I was not the easiest child to get to sleep – I’ve always been a night owl – and I was one of four children that they had finally gotten into bed for the night – well, you can understand their response being less Hooray for Diffendoofer Day and more Marvin K. Mooney, Would You Please Go Now!

But I do remember – and laugh at – my parents’ underwhelmed response to this day, twenty years later. (Luckily, they’ve more than made up for it with other milestone moments in my life.)

To top off the story, I was an extremely picky eater as a child – and am still fairly picky as an adult – and “Try it, you just might like it!” has never been a motto I’ve tried to live by.

Do you remember the first book you read independently? If so, let me know what it was in the comments!

What's your opinion?

