Children's · Fantasy · Teen Fiction · YA

The House of Hades

house_of_hades_cover__fanmade__by_doodlingsketch-d62lwn0

by: Rick Riordan

Hi guys! I know I haven’t posted in a while but I’ve been busy and didn’t make time for my blog!  I also have had a base case of puttingdownitis, where I read the first couple of chapters of a book and then move on to the next one.  Then I realized House of Hades had come out.  And of course I had to get it and read it and then I stayed up until 2 a.m. finishing it, without even realizing how late it was.

House of Hades is Riordan’s latest addition to his Heroes of Olympus series, which is a sequel series to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.  If you’re not at all familiar with Riordan’s series, they’re based on the premise that the Olympian gods are still alive and well…and reproducing.  Children of gods are heroes, of course, and Riordan draws heavily on Greek myths to give them monsters to fight and quests to complete.

This series draws from the Roman myths as well, though I won’t say how in case somebody reading this hasn’t read the series.  It’s a shorter and, plot-wise, much, much tighter series than PJATO, so starting at the beginning is really helpful for clarity.  Riordan does a great job of lightly touching on important plot points without rewriting portions of the previous books, so you don’t have to reread the first three books to get caught up with the smaller details.

As for the book itself, it’s pretty darn good.  It’s definitely an action-adventure book.  It’s fast-paced, fun, and easy to get caught up in.  We’re following seven heroes on a quest to – what else? – save the world.  Violence may abound, but clever words and tricks, Odysseus-style, save the day a time or ten.  I always love a fast-paced book that remembers violence isn’t always the answer.

The character development is actually pretty good, though occasionally they’re written a tad bit too simplistically and I wish there was a bit more of it.   One of surprisingly good things about this series is the diversity of the characters, especially as it’s set in American (where the Olympic gods have moved to), where more and more people of mixed ethnicities are being born every day. I think it’s very realistic, for instance, that a half-Greek and half-Latino demigods was born in Texas. Riordan doesn’t do a whole amount of developing the cultural background of his characters – any of his characters – but he does incorporate where he can.  Generally, though, they’re too busy trying to stay alive to allow much time for anything else.  And they’re all narrating characters, as well.

And, of course, shout out to all his amazing female characters who are smart and strong and flawed.

Riordan switches character viewpoint every few chapters and does so surprisingly well, though that’s partly because he relies on third-person limited point of view.  This book focused, more than the previous three, on the heroes finding their strength and deciding who they are.  It’s kinda cool that they do this in the book before the big finale, rather than right before or during it.   I think it will make the final battle, and there will be a final battle, more a test of strength and endurance, rather than the main character magically leveling up right when he needs to.

We don’t get to see many of the big 12 gods in this story, which is a bit sad for me.  We do get to meet quite a few new minor gods and monsters, as well as some older friends and enemies.  I love seeing how the gods adapted to our modern world!  Riordan’s writing is good but not great – but his plot lines and use of Greek myths and gods is fantastic.  I will say the writing is definitely directed at preteens and teenagers and every once in a great while the teenage voice is a bit forced.

There were one or two deus ex machina points in the story, which I saw coming and rolled my eyes at.  There were also a few unexpected twists and turns that mostly made up for it.  And I loved the handling of character-character relationships, as Riordan tries to look at nearly every possible relationship.  (I could do with a bit more emphasis on the female characters’ interactions with each other in this book, but I do seem to remember The Mark of Athena focusing more on them, so maybe in balance I’m happy.)  The book overall is smooth and you’ll quickly find yourself getting lost in it, just like the previous three.  I should mention I like this series more than the previous one and I think they’re better written, overall.

Overall, if you like exciting action-adventure books or if you love the Greek gods and myths, you should pick up Riordan.  If you’ve read him before and enjoyed it, please continue reading! The books are all fairly equal in quality, which is rare and wonderful.  If, however, a teenage voice written for a young audience doesn’t excite you or if you want a lot of deep character development and growth in your fantasy, then, alas!, this may not be the book for you.

6 thoughts on “The House of Hades

    1. Thanks! I’m sorry I took an unexpected hiatus – I’ve just had a lot going on (figuring out food allergies, music festivals, job interviews!) and I didn’t realize how long it had been since I’d posted. 😦

What's your opinion?

