Books. Opinions. Good times.

Speaking of Harry Potter…

Someone left a comment on my “about” page mentioning Harry Potter (thanks for commenting!) and it’s very timely.  Today, in a fit of book splurging, (one of the Barnes and Nobles in my city has an excellent science section; I only go about once a year but I really stock up!) I decided to undertake an ambitious project that I’ve been toying with for a while. I completely stole it from a good friend, by the way.

I’ve been wanting to learn more Spanish for most of my life.  And especially now, when I volunteer at an Argentinean cultural center where I swear everyone but me speaks lovely Spanish, I really need to learn more Spanish.  So I bought Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, en Espanol, and I’m going to see if I can slowly but surely get through it and learn more Spanish.  I learnt all my best English while reading, so hopefully I’ll find this more engaging than a traditional route.

If I’m successful, I’ll post a review in Spanish and if I’m not, I may never speak of this again. Either way, it should be fun!

Comments on: "Speaking of Harry Potter…" (7)

  1. Oh that’s a cool idea! And you chose Harry Potter to start which is the best part (wow… that sorta rhymed!)
    I might learn more French later the same way i guess. 😉

    • Ooh, I’ll start a fad! 😀
      Yeah, I chose Harry Potter because it’s good and the writing is really straightforward and simpler without being kid’s book simplistic. Plus, it’s been years since I read it!

  2. You should try to read it out loud if you can. –I can read Spanish, but I still don’t speak it very well… Good Luck!

  3. Sounds like a good idea, using a book you know well in one language to learn another. Good luck!

  4. Reading is the best way to learn.. especially with Harry Potter 🙂

What's your opinion?

