Uncategorized

How many books do you read at once?

The question of the moment.  Yesterday I said I was reading two awesome books – I am so very excited about them! – and I wondered if y’all read more than one book at a time?

I can share attention with multiple books – 3-5 is pretty normal – until I get about halfway through a book.  Then I tend to decide if I want to continue the book, in which case I generally put all other books down until I’m finished, or I put the book down until I want to finish it at the exclusion of others.  (I’m usually able to pick up a book again days or even months later and still remember what’s going on.) Right now, of course, I’m nearly halfway through two books and I want to give all of my attention to both! But I think I’m going to finish the shorter one first.

What about you, dear readers?  Do you read more than one book at once, or are you a purist who sticks to a strict diet of one at a time? Do you have a system for getting through books?   Let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “How many books do you read at once?

  1. Generally I read about two books together. If I get bored of one, I’ll read the next and if from that, I give my attention to the next one! 🙂

  2. I think my max is 3. Anything more than that and I lose interest in one of the others. Long series in particular help me to read many things at once…

      1. With Game of Thrones I often need a break. It’s impossible for a writer to keep up the tension for 5,000 pages straight, so at points where there’s a little less going on I usually jump into something else for a while.
        I was reading Animorphs back to back until I got a little worn down there too. Had to jump BACK to game of Thrones!

What's your opinion?

