Uncategorized

Author Phenomenon

(I am trying really hard to post more – book reviews and other book-type things! Keep your fingers crossed for me!) Has it ever happened to you that you read a book, you love it very, very much, and you put it down and think, “This is the best this author is ever going to do.  There’s no point in reading anything further by them,” and then never read them again? It’s happened to me twice – once with Orson Scott Card and Ender’s Game.  I did, at one point, out of sheer boredom, try to read one of the sequels, but I hated it and did not finish.  I didn’t have any real desire to read it in the first place, but it was the end of my high school tenure and I had pretty much read everything in the library that I was interested in reading – this was before Nooks and I lived an hour away from the nearest bookstore.  I still have no desire – and I mean, zip, zilch, natch – to read any of Card’s work.  Even though I loved Ender’s Game and, in fact, was happy to have an excuse to reread it recently. The other was Truth or Dairy by Catherine Clark.  It’s a quirky, fun coming-of-age story about a teenage girl, dealing with life, love, and parents.  I read it and loved it.  Really loved it!  I know I read it at least 7 times over the course of four years or so.  If I got my hands on a copy now, I would read and review it for my blog ASAP. And yet, I never felt a desire to read any more of her books.  Strange, I know.  One time, while at Walden’s in Corpus Christi, I found Truth or Dairy on the shelf and looked at the other books she had published – this had never occurred to me to do before – and was just supremely uninterested.  Didn’t even bother opening one. I can’t explain it, but it happens.  At least to me. The only time I shared this feeling  – with a sci-fi snob – I got reprimanded and told I was “missing out” on Card’s other works.  (I still am not going to read them.)   Now I am curious to know, dear readers, does it also happen to you? Have you ever loved on book so, so much, and yet given the rest of the author’s works nothing but the most disinterested of glances?   Let me know in the comments!

What's your opinion?

