Books. Opinions. Good times.

Book shopping

Do y’all have that thing where you go in the bookstore for just one book and then leave many books richer but many dollars poorer?

This happens to me all the time.  It’s why I don’t visit bookstores very often. I can walk out with no books or I can walk out with 4 or more.  And nothing in between.

Yesterday I stopped by my local bookstore (how lucky I am, to live in a place with a local bookstore!) to pick up The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss’ sequel to The Name of the Wind.  That’s it, thought I.  Just the one book, a quick in to the fantasy/sci-fi section and out through the cash registers, past the Hot Books! stand I never buy anything from.  Easy peasy.

Yeah, right.  I walked out with The Wise Man’s FearAnna KareninaSlaughterhouse 5, and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand. Two of them were on my to-read list for the year that I found in the general fiction and classics section.  I was led there by an intriguing Valentine’s Day display, holding not only classic love stories but humorous tales of love gone wrong and Elizabeth Barring and Robert Browning’s love letters. Oh, and a copy of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand with a glowing review by one of the employees.

And even if I go to a Barnes and Noble (with no employee reviews or sneakily devised book displays) I get caught up in their nonfiction sections or romance sections.  Half-price is even worse, because I convince myself that I’m getting such a great deal! (I mean, I am. But that usually doesn’t lessen the amount of money I spend.)

The library helps, but as I have no patience, it doesn’t help my need to read my favorite authors’ new books the minute they come out.

I don’t have that many extraneous expenses, but I also don’t have that much of a paycheck.  Bookstores, however, are my greatest weakness.

How do you get your books? Borrow, lend, buy? Have the same self-control problem at bookstores? Let me know below!

 

Comments on: "Book shopping" (4)

  1. Oh yeah…you got that right. I always thought they should rename Barnes&Noble broke & humble after me. I feel your pain…

  2. I love browsing in a bookstore, not quite the same as scrolling online.

    • It’s absolutely not! I love my nook (especially how much space it saves me when I travel) but I could never give up “real books” and their accompanying bookstores.

What's your opinion?

